How to translate the game "surviving the wild"?

16 Nachrichten, 1 Seiten:  1 ↖ Zurück zur Themenliste

~msgScore~: +3

1. davidhs1200,

Hi, I'm not a programmer but because there is no game for the blind in my language I want to learn. How to translate the game survive the wild? Is it easy? I read the programmers guide and followed what I understood. It didn't help. If someone can send me in parts how to do it I would be very happy

~msgScore~: +0

2. Nikola,

Hello there,
you do not need to be a programmer, but you do need a lot of patience. In my honest opinion, that is not even a translation system, it is just a kind of dictionary that you have to develop and create yourself. Let's give a few examples, and you can decide if it is worth it or not:

To start off, the way your translation starts is always with the first string being the language name. So, for example, my file starts as:

Srpski [=]

It is very important that you have a space, a left bracket, the equals sign, a right bracket, and another space at the end of each string.

The rest of the file follows a similar structure which is described in the Official translation documentation.

For example, let's describe a few static strings:

left hand [=] Leva ruka
right hand [=] desna ruka
You have to stop a second to try to cool off... [=] Morate da se zaustavite na trenutak i ohladite se...

From this, you should be able to follow and deduce where your translations should come.

Dynamic strings are only a little bit more complicated. For instance:

play as %1 [=] Igraj kao %1

%1 will be replaced by whichever character name is playing the game. You can have more format strings, such as %2, %3, depending on a given original output. You can of course swap them around in your translation in case the grammar of your language prefers a different order.

The only other thing that you have to worry about is dynamic strings which have to be translated back into your language. For example: