Accessible online radio programs

29 messages, 1 pages: 1  ↖ Go back to topic list

Score: +1

1. FromUnknownReality ,

Hi,
I was wondering if their are accessible programs that can stream online radio. I am not technically familiar with dropbox but still want to listen to background music on the playroom. So, are there any recomendations for accessible online radio apps or websites? Thanks.

2. Nikola,

For programs, it isn't that hard, both Radio boss and station playlist studio are quite accessible. You will however need to pay for a shoutcast server, as all free options I'm aware of typically give many limitations, one of which is impossible to deal with if you want to stream on PR, that is, they allow you to have listeners listening to your station only through their website and their player.
There is an alternative people use if you don't want to use Dropbox, though this one I find quite annoying. You can go to any website which converts Youtube videos to MP3, then enter a URL and receive a download link. This download link is the one you stream on PR, however typically to avoid large bandwitth usage, these links expire after a short period, usually not more than 15 minutes, so it's really mostly for listening to music with people when you know they'll be listening at the same time as you. This of course assumes the content you want to stream is on Youtube to begin with.

3. StormProductions,

Hi, there is a free provider that gives you free shout cast stream with autoDJ that allows unlimited listeners and unlimited uploading storage. Check out zeno.fm for more info.

Score: +0

4. Destranis,

I think he didn't mean to create his own radio but listen to already existing ones. For that purpose, I'd recommend Tapin radio for windows, and Radio.net for iOS.

5. Nikola,

The reason I thought he wants to create a radio is because he said he wants to listen to streams on the Playroom without using Dropbox, thus I assumed he'd like to propose his own music.